Skip to the Content

Honoring the best
of the web


Press Releases


For information, contact:

Damiano DeMonte -

Jaclyn Rutigliano -

Lainie Rosenthal -

Sunshine, Sachs & Associates: 212-691-2800

Five-Word Speeches Mark 15th Annual Webby Awards at Hammerstein Ballroom

Dan Savage: Tracy Morgan Can Suck My…

Anna Wintour: Sometimes Geek Can Be Chic

Will Ferrell Ignores Five-Word Mandate in Favor of Haiku

New York, NY (June 14, 2010) - Highlighting a star-studded evening of Webby friendly five-word speeches, Dan Savage struck back at Tracy Morgan's recent controversial remarks in his acceptance speech of a Special Recognition Award at the 15th Annual Webbys tonight at The Hammerstein Ballroom. Savage, accepting his award for founding the groundbreaking It Gets Better Project, used his short speech to deliver a pointed message to the outspoken comic.

"Tracy Morgan can suck my…," said Savage in his scathing critique of the star of NBC's 30 Rock.

In another notable five-word speech, Vogue Editor-in-Chief Anna Wintour delivered remarks clearly aimed at her audience: "Sometimes geek can be chic," the legendary editor said.

In accepting its award for Person of the Year, IBM supercomputer Watson pointedly addressed the controversy of a computer walking away with an award clearly aimed at humans. "Person of the year. Ironic."

And, ignoring the famous Webby Award five-word speech protocol, funny man Will Ferrell accepted Funny or Die's award via video alongside site co-founders Adam McKay and Chris Henchy with a haiku. "Thanks for this award. I will put it in my house next to my instructional poetry textbooks. Thank you."

Through an innovative partnership with Facebook, fans were able watch this year’s ceremony, hosted by Lisa Kudrow, live on the Webby Awards official Facebook Page, as well as on participating partner pages including The Huffington Post, Martha Stewart, (RED), BuzzFeed, National Geographic and SportsNation. On these pages, fans can now view the five-word acceptance speeches, backstage and red carpet footage and other special access footage from the live show.

Other speech highlights included:

  • James Murphy from LCD Soundsystem for Artist of the Year: "Thanks, this is deeply weird."
  • Groupon CEO Andrew Mason: "It's short for group coupon."
  • Martin Cooper, inventor of the mobile phone, for his Special Recognition Award: "Can you hear me now?"
  • Wieden + Kennedy for Agency of the Year: "Anonymous, we thank you, anonymously."
  • Chris Milk for Online Film and Video Music Award: "Sinners make the best saints."
  • Peter Vesterbacka, CMO of Rovio, the company that created Angry Birds, for Webby and People's Voice Awards: "Stay angry - get those pigs!!!"
  • A list of all speeches can be found at:

    About The Webby Awards:
    Hailed as the "Internet's highest honor" by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising & media, online film & video, and mobile & apps. Established in 1996, the 15th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: AOL, Vitamin T, Yahoo!, Microsoft, Ford, Dentyne, Facebook, MLB Advanced Media, Rackspace Hosting, LBi, Buddy Media, (RED), YouTube, HP, USA Today, Financial Times, Business Insider, Geekosystem, 2advanced.Net, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Time Out New York and Guardian News and Media.



    Follow: @TheWebbyAwards