Skip to the Content

Honoring the best
of the web


Press Releases


For information contact:
Gita Chandra:
Patrick Kowalczyk:
PKPR, 212.627.8098



BBDO Takes Coveted Webby Agency of the Year Award with Most Wins (12), Followed by TBWA\Chiat\Day (4), BBH (4), DDB Stockholm (3), and Wieden + Kennedy (3)

(New York, NY) - May 4, 2010 -The 14th Annual Webby Awards today unveiled the winners in interactive advertising, with BBDO leading with 12 awards, followed by TBWA\Chiat\Day (4), BBH (4), DDB Stockholm (3), and Wieden + Kennedy (3).

At the star-studded ceremony on June 14th in New York City, BBDO will be presented with the Webby Agency of the Year Award, which recognizes the most successful agency across all Webby categories, including, interactive advertising, websites, mobile sites, and online film and video.

Academy judges like R/GA's Bob Greenberg, Ogilvy's Lars Bastholm, and Crispin Porter + Bogusky's Alex Bogusky selected Webby Awards winners, while people around the world cast nearly one million votes in The Webby People's Awards, setting a new Webby record. A full list of both Webby Awards and People's Voice Awards winners can be found at

Other highlights of The 14th Annual Webby Awards include:

  • Several groundbreaking interactive advertising campaigns receiving Webby Awards include:

  • - Evian's "Roller Babies" (BETC Euro RSCG)
    - Volkswagen's "The Fun Theory" (DDB Stockholm)
    - Starbucks "Love Project" (BBDO New York)
    - The Grammy Awards' "We're All Fans" (TBWA\Chiat\Day)

  • Achieving both critical and popular consensus, five works won both a Webby Award and a People's Voice Award including:

  • - Kit Kat's "Jesus" (UbachsWisbrun/JWT)
    - The Grammy Awards' "We're All Fans" (TBWA\Chiat\Day)
    - Volkswagen's "The Fun Theory" (DDB Stockholm)
    - "Yearbook Yourself" (Colle + McVoy)
    - "Can Hands" (Bridge Worldwide)

  • Two campaigns won Webby Awards in multiple categories:

  • - Nike's Tour de France "Chalkbot" (Wieden + Kennedy): Best Integrated Media Plan and Online Campaigns
    - Volkswagen's "The Fun Theory" (DDB Stockholm): Online Guerilla & Innovation and Online Campaigns

  • Winning agencies ranged from large agencies like R/GA and United Kingdom's Dare to London's Akestam Holst and Minneapolis' Colle + McVoy
  • "From viral videos to Facebook memes to wildly popular branded content and games, this year's winners demonstrate interactive advertising's growing influence on pop culture," said David-Michel Davies, executive director, The Webby Awards. "We're thrilled to honor the agencies and brands that are pushing the medium in exciting new directions."

    Hosted by B.J. Novak of NBC's The Office, the 14th Annual Webby Awards ceremony will feature winners and honorees delivering five-word speeches in the tradition of past Webby victors like Al Gore ("Please don't recount this vote."), R/GA's Bob Greenberg ("Agency for the Digital Age"), and Jimmy Fallon ("Thank God Conan got promoted"). Speeches and ceremony highlights will be broadcast on the Webby Awards YouTube channel ( The ceremony will also mark the culmination of Internet Week New York 2010, a weeklong festival celebrating digital culture that's expected to draw 20,000 people to over 100 events throughout New York City.

    About The Webby Awards
    Hailed as the "Internet's highest honor" by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile web sites. Established in 1996, the 13th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Microsoft Expression; Aol; YouTube; Pepsi; Aquent; Yahoo!; Corbis Images; Tribal DDB Worldwide; East Media; IDG; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail; Museum of the Moving Image; Behance; Business Insider; Time Out New York; paidContent and The Guardian.