Final Entry Deadline is Friday, December 15th ENTER NOW

Desus Nice, Jill Scott, Michael Aragon, Swizz Beatz, Timbaland, Sima Sistani, Santi Pochat and Sarah Cooper Announced As New Judges For 25th Annual Webby Awards Call For Entries Campaign Beginning Today


Media Contact:
Angela Carola

New Webby Categories for Virtual & Remote, Software Services and Platforms, and Podcasts Target Industry’s Most Innovative and Groundbreaking Work

NEW YORK, September 15, 2020 — Hailed as “the Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards, the premier award celebrating Internet excellence, launched its 25th Annual Call for Entries today, introducing a slate of new judges to review and select the industry’s most innovative work. The early entry deadline to submit work across Websites and Mobile Sites; Video; Advertising, Media & PR; Social; Podcasts; Games and new this year Apps and Software and Virtual & Remote is Friday, October 30, 2020.

Now in its 25th year, The Webby Awards continues to expand the International Academy of Digital Arts & Science to include the most esteemed and talented experts in their fields, across entertainment, advertising, media, and technology sectors. Newest members of the Academy judging panel include; MOMA Senior Curator Paola Antonelli; Host of NPR’s Code Switch Shereen Marisol Meraji; DJ and Founder, Club Quarantine D-Nice; Comedian Sarah Cooper; Founder and CEO Miro Andrey Khusid; Co-host Desus & Mero on Showtime Desus Nice; Google’s Social Lab Head Santi Pochat; SVP of Content at Twich Michael Aragon; Mailchimp CMO Tom Klein; Artist and Performer Jill Scott; Creator of Avi Schiffman, The Martin Agency Chief Creative Officer Danny Robinson; and Founders of VERZUZ Swizz Beatz and Timbaland.

“This year every business leader, innovator, designer, creative, animator, developer — really every human — is navigating rapid change,” said Claire Graves, Executive Director of the Webby Awards. “While it has been a turbulent time, to say the least, it has also been an opportunity to see the Internet accelerate to become the tool that holds us together. This year also marks our 25th Anniversary and we are honored to work alongside exceptional industry leaders to recognize the best of the Internet which will include new work and innovations that have risen in response to the changing world around us.”

New this year, The Webby Awards is launching a brand new suite of Virtual & Remote categories for virtual events, and remote experiences including general categories like Arts & Culture, Business & Finance, Media & Entertainment, Health & Wellness, Music and Public Service & Activism. Features categories will honor the craft and production of virtual events and experiences with categories to honor; Best Audience Integration, Best Festival or Conference, Best Host or Speaker, Brand or Partner Experience and Technical Achievement. IADAS members, DJ & Founder of Club Quarantine D-Nice; CEO & Founder Empire Entertainment JB Miller; Co-founder and CEO Houseparty Sima Sistani; Co-host Desus & Mero Desus Nice; VP, Design & UX at BET Networks Maureen Carter; Managing Partner of Tool NA Dustin Califf; SVP Content at Twitch Michael Aragon; and Founder of Instagram Kevin Systrom are slated to judge Virtual & Remote entries.

The Webby Awards is also excited to announce a suite of Apps and Software categories to honor outstanding Software Services and Platforms. IADAS members Amazon CTO Werner Vogels; VP Brand at Dashlane Jackie Jantos; Profitero President Sarah Hoeffstetter; Slack Co-founder Cal Henderson; Adobe Creative Cloud Cheif Product Officer Scott Belsky; CEO of Miro Andrey Khusid, and CMO of Twilio Sara Varni will help judge the inaugural Software Services and Platform categories.

The Early Entry Deadline to submit work for Webby Award consideration is Friday, October 30, 2020. Entrants can submit work across categories including Websites and Mobile Sites; Video; Advertising, Media & PR; Social; Podcasts; Games and new this year Apps and Software and Virtual & Remote.

In 2019, The Webby Awards received nearly 13,000 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide, capping off a memorable celebration of the innovators, entertainers, and visionaries on the Internet last year. This year’s entrants will have the chance to join past Webby Winners like AirBNB, Apple, Be Woke Vote, Instagram, Crooked Media, Essence, Fenty Beauty, Fortnite, HBO, HAKUHODO Inc, The Daily Show with Trevor Noah, Nike, The New York Times, Riot Games, Spotify, Vox Media, and Wieden + Kennedy, among others.

All entrants compete for The Webby Award (as voted on by IADAS) and The Webby People’s Voice Award (as voted on by fans). Last year, more than 550,000 Internet fans from more than 230 countries and territories around the world cast their votes. For more information on the 25th Annual Webby Awards and to enter, please visit

Find The Webby Awards Online:

Instagram: @TheWebbyAwards
Twitter: @TheWebbyAwards

About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites; Video; Advertising, Media & PR; Apps, Mobile, and Voice; Social; Podcasts; and Games. Established in 1996, The Webby Awards received more than 13,000 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide this year. The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include:, Slack, WP Engine, YouGov, BASIC, KPMG, Adweek, Fast Company, Wall Street Journal, MediaPost, Podcast Movement, AIGA and Social Media Week.