About The Webby Awards


About The Webby Awards

The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet.

Established in 1996 during the Web’s infancy, The Webbys is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS)—a 3000+ member judging body. The Academy is comprised of Executive Members—leading Internet experts, business figures, luminaries, visionaries and creative celebrities—and Associate Members who are former Webby Winners, Nominees and other Internet professionals.

The Internet's highest honor.”
— The New York Times

See Highlights of the 27th Annual Webby Awards with Host Roy Wood Jr.
Watch Now

Reflecting the tremendous growth of the Internet, The Webbys now honors excellence in 9 major media types: Websites and Mobile Sites, Video, Advertising, Media & PR, Apps & Software, Social, Podcasts, Games, and AI, Metaverse & Virtual.

The Webby Awards presents two honors in every category—The Webby Award and The Webby People’s Voice Award. Members of the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) select the Nominees for both awards in each category, as well as the Winners of The Webby Awards. In the spirit of the open Web, The Webby People’s Voice is awarded by the voting public. Each year, The Webby People’s Voice Awards garners millions of votes from all over the world.

In 2010, The Webby Awards launched its’ European sister award program, The Lovie Awards. The mission of The Lovie Awards is to recognize the unique and resonant nature of the European Internet community – from Europe’s top web and creative networks and content publishers, to cultural and political organizations and individual creators. Learn more about the Lovies here.

In 2021, The Webby Awards launched the brand new Anthem Awards, which celebrates purpose & mission-driven work from people, companies and organizations worldwide, across seven core purposes: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion; Education, Art & Culture; Health; Human & Civil Rights; Humanitarian Action & Services; Responsible Technology; and Sustainability, Environment & Climate. Learn more about Anthem here.