1998 Webby Awards Unveil Nominees


Judie Mulligan,

Fleishman-Hillard Public Relations, 415.356.1086


Dilbert Creator Scott Adams, Digital Guru Esther Dyson, Chasing Amy Director

Kevin Smith Lead List of Celeb Judges

San Francisco (December 2, 1997) – Kicking off the countdown to the

biggest night of the year for the online world, The Webby Awards® unveiled the nominees for the most sought-after honor

in digital media.

Tiffany Shlain, the producer of the Webby Awards® also announced some of the celebrities, leading media experts, and Web visionaries who will serve on this year’s judging panel. Leading the list are Scott Adams, the creator of Dilbert, digital guru Esther Dyson, director Kevin Smith (Chasing Amy, Clerks), Jane Magazine editor-in-chief Jane Pratt, and director Allison Anders (Grace of My Heart, Gas, Food & Lodging).

According to Shlain, nominees were chosen by the editors of IDG’s publication THE WEB Magazine from the thousands of sites reviewed by the magazine over the past year on the basis of content, design, links and overall quality. The panel of judges will choose a winner in each of the following categories: Arts, Community, Education, Film, Games, Health, Home, Living, Money/Business, Music, News, Politics/Law, Print/Zines, Radio, Science, Sports, TV, Travel, and Weird.

Winners will be announced at a gala awards ceremony and party at San

Francisco’s elegant Palace of Fine Arts and the Exploratorium on March

6, 1998. More than 2,000 movers and shakers in cyberculture, media and

entertainment are expected to attend.

Other confirmed judges include: Thomas Dolby, Musician and CEO of

Silicon Valley-based Headspace Inc.; Jon Plunkett, creative director of

Wired magazine; Greg LeFevre, CNN San Francisco bureau chief; Susan

Casey, creative director of Outside magazine; Joseph Montebello,

creative director at Harper Collins and Rand and Robyn Miller creators

of Myst & Riven CD-ROMs.

To date, the sponsors of this year’s event include Absolut Vodka, Real Networks, LinkExchange, Princeton Graphics, Chromatek, and Rent-A-Computer.

The Webbies™ honor the best creative and

innovative Web sites of the year and the talented editorial,

technical, and design teams behind them. Reflecting the boom in online

entertainment, the 1998 nominees range from Web powerhouses like Disney

( to the brilliant Mars Pathfinder

( and Smithsonian ( sites

to the one-woman creation of ENTROPY 8 (, a contender

in the Arts category. See the attached list for a complete rundown of

nominees or go to

“The 1998 Webby Awards® has grown as quickly as the Web itself,” said

Tiffany Shlain, producer and creative director of the event. “We honor

the people who are transforming this medium into an artform. Between

this year’s stellar nominees, judges, sponsors and The Palace of Fine

Arts Theater, this show will be as grand as the winners.”

Also announced today was the launch of “The People’s Voice Awards”

voting site (, an online ballot box where the public

can cast votes for their favorite sites in each of the 19 categories. By

voting, people are automatically entered into a contest to win

round-trip airfare to San Francisco to attend The 1998 Webby Awards®.

Produced by The Who and How Entertainment Network , the Webby Awards®

voting site will also carry a live webcast of the event 8 PST 3/6/98.

Last year’s Webby Awards® was the only Internet awards show to receive

national television coverage, including MSNBC, C|NET, The Discovery

Channel, and PBS. In addition, CBS affiliate Alice 97.3 FM broadcast

the awards live and a Webcast brought the event live to the online

community. The 1998 Webby Awards® promises to be the preeminent Web

awards show of the year.