Nominees Announced, Vote until April 18th

Adam Sandler, David Harbour Join Previously Announced Special Achievement Winners for 22nd Annual Webby Awards


Media Contact
Sunshine Sachs



Sharon Stone, Liam Neeson, and More Are Set To Present at Celebration of Internet Excellence on Monday, May 14, in New York City

Watch The Webby Awards on Tuesday, May 15 exclusively at

NEW YORK, May 9, 2018 – The Webby Awards announced today that comedian and actor Adam Sandler and actor David Harbour will be recognized with Webby Special Achievement Awards for their contributions to Internet culture at the 22nd Annual Webby Awards celebration at Cipriani Wall Street on May 14, 2018.

Sandler will be presented with a Webby Special Achievement Award for his stellar performances across several Netflix original films, including The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Second), The Week Of, The Ridiculous Six, Sandy Wexler, and The Do-Over, and for his role in bringing more recognition to the power, popularity, and profitability of streaming platforms.

Harbour will accept the Webby Special Achievement for Best Actor for his starring role as Sheriff Jim Hopper in Netflix’s smash hit Stranger Things and for skillfully using social media to engage fans and spread positivity on the Internet.

Sandler and Harbour join previously announced notable Special Achievement Honorees and Winners, including #MeToo trailblazer Susan Fowler, actress Laura Linney, actor Jesse Williams, artist FKA twigs, Mozilla Executive Chairwoman Mitchell Baker, Ugly Delicious creator David Chang, director Steven Soderbergh, NFL player Chris Long, and the former President of Mexico Vicente Fox.

The Webby Awards also announced that actress Sharon Stone, actor Liam Neeson, journalist Kara Swisher, and host of The Daily podcast from The New York Times Michael Barbaro will be among the presenters on stage to introduce this year’s winners.

“This year’s Webby Special Achievement Honorees and Winners perfectly embody the Internet’s powerful grip on our culture and our daily lives,” said Claire Graves, Executive Director, The Webby Awards. “We are privileged to recognize the many ways the Internet is able to draw us in, bring us together, energize and activate us, and make us laugh, cry, wonder, and dream.”

Hosted by comedian Amber Ruffin, the 22nd Annual Webby Awards Show—including all the show highlights, special performances, and hallmark 5-Word Speeches from the night’s Winners—will be available to watch on demand on Tuesday, May 15, exclusively at

For more information about this year’s Webby Awards and to view the full list of Winners, please visit For media credential information, please visit

Find The Webby Awards Online:
Twitter: @TheWebbyAwards
Instagram: @TheWebbyAwards
Snapchat: TheWebbyAwards

About The Webby Awards:
Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, Film & Video, Advertising, Media & PR, Mobile Sites & Apps, Social, Podcasts & Digital Audio, and Games. Established in 1996, The Webby Awards received more than 13,000 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide this year. The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: YouTube, HBO, WP Engine, Vitamin T, EY, YouGov, Paramount Network, PUBLIC, The Hollywood Reporter, WNYC Studios, Digiday, Glixel, Product Hunt, and Social Media Week.