Anne Wojcicki, Bill Simmons, Tiffany Rolfe, and Rick Gomez Announced as New Judges For 24TH Annual Webby Awards Call For Entries Campaign Beginning Today




Media Contact:
Angela Carola


New Webby Categories for Podcasts and Immersive and Mixed Reality Target Industry’s Most Innovative and Groundbreaking Work


NEW YORK, September 10, 2019 — Hailed as “the Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards, the premier award celebrating Internet excellence, launched its 24th Annual Call for Entries today, introducing a slate of new judges to review and select the industry’s most innovative work. The early entry deadline to submit work across Websites; Advertising, Media & PR; Video; Apps, Mobile, and Voice; Social; Podcasts; and Games is Friday, October 25, 2019.

Now in its 24th year, The Webby Awards continues to expand the International Academy of Digital Arts & Science to include the most esteemed and talented experts in their fields, across entertainment, advertising, media, and technology sectors. Newest members of the Academy judging panel include 23andMe Co-Founder and CEO Anne Wojcicki; PBS CEO Paula Kerger; CMO of Allbirds Julie Channing; Headspace Founder Andy Puddicombe; Girlboss Co-Founder and CEO Sophie Amoruso; The dtx Company Founder Tim Armstrong; Masterclass Founder David Rogier; Anti-Bullying Activist Monica Lewinsky; News Not Noise Founder Jessica Yellin; CEO and Co-Founder Jerry Colonna; R/GA US Chief Creative Officer Tiffany Rolfe; Bill Simmons Podcast Host Bill Simmons; and Target CMO Rick Gomez.

“Over the last several years we’ve seen a huge diversification in the way our entrants and winners communicate through technology, and the use of mixed reality and podcasts have created intimate connections in a way we haven’t seen before,” said Claire Graves, Executive Director of the Webby Awards.  “Nobody understands the shift in how we use technology to tell important stories, and build communities to listen, watch and interact, better than our judges. We are honored and elated to work alongside these industry leaders to recognize and celebrate the best of the Internet once again this year.”

Since launching a suite of Podcast categories in 2016, The Webby Awards has seen incredible growth in the quality and subject matter of Podcasts and the level of storytelling put forth by producers across the medium. This year the Podcast categories have been expanded to include honors for Individual Episodes, Mini-Series, and Specials. New IADAS members, Host of Revision Path Maurice Cherry; Chalk and Blade Producer Ruth Barnes; Morning Edition Hosts Rachel Martin and David Green; and Host of Conversations with People Who Hate Me and Voice Actor for Welcome to Nightvale Dylan Maron, will join Gimlet Media Co-Founder Alex Blumberg, Pineapple Street Media Co-Founder Jenna Weiss-Berman, Death, Sex, and Money Host Anna Sale, and Radiotopia Producer Julie Shapiro to judge this year’s Podcast entries.

Other new Webby categories this year include a suite for Immersive and Mixed Reality to honor the creative experimentation happening in the field. Categories for Immersive and Mixed Reality include Animation, Documentary, Entertainment, News, Best Use of Augmented Reality, and Volumetric / 6-Degrees of Freedom.

The Early Entry Deadline to submit work for Webby Award consideration is Friday, October 25, 2019. Entrants can submit work across categories including: Websites, Video, Advertising, Media & PR, Apps, Mobile, and Voice, Social, Podcasts and Games.

In 2018, The Webby Awards received more than 13,000 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide, capping off the biggest celebration of the innovators, entertainers, and visionaries on the Internet last year. This year’s entrants will have the chance to join past Webby Winners like Apple, Instagram, Fortnite, HBO, TBWA, Intel, The Late Show with James Cordon, Nike, Wondery, The New Yorker, Spotify, Airbnb, BBDO, How Did This Get Made, and HBO, among others.

All entrants compete for The Webby Award (as voted on by IADAS) and The Webby People’s Voice Award (as voted on by fans). Last year, more than 700,000 Internet fans from more than 230 countries and territories around the world cast their votes. For more information on the 24th Annual Webby Awards and to enter, please visit

Find The Webby Awards Online:

Instagram: @TheWebbyAwards
Twitter: @TheWebbyAwards

About The Webby Awards:
Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites; Video; Advertising, Media & PR; Apps, Mobile, and Voice; Social; Podcasts; and Games. Established in 1996, The Webby Awards received more than 13,000 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide this year. The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Instagram, WPEngine, Amazon Prime Video, YouGov, Fast Company, PUBLIC, Social Media Week, and EY.