Apple, Questlove Supreme, Savage x Fenty, Discord, Because of Anita, Believe in Ted Lasso, NASA Global Climate Change, Gordon Ramsay, Sesame Street, SmartLess, Gucci, The 1619 Project, Toxic: The Britney Spears Story, Laverne Cox, Among Those Receiving Internet’s Highest Honor


Megan Thee Stallion, Drew Barrymore, Takashi Murakami, Adam Scott, Say Gay Organizers and NFT Inventors Anil Dash and Kevin McCoy To Be Recognized as The Webby Awards Special Achievement Honorees

Roy Wood Jr. to host 26th Annual Webby Awards in New York City on May 16th (in person!)

NEW YORK, April 26, 2022 – The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences (IADAS) today announced the Winners for the 26th Annual Webby Awards. Winners include The 1619 Project, NASA Global Climate Change Website, Google Black-Owned Friday and Uber – Vaccinate The Block; pop culture phenomena including Ted Lasso, The Queen of Basketball, Sesame Street and The Dropout Podcast; as well cultural icons including Gordon Ramsey, Questlove, Billie Eilish, Trevor Noah, Roxanne Gay, Tony Hawk, Laverne Cox, Conan O’Brien, Lilly Singh, Jimmy Fallon, Tig Notaro, Kyrie Irving, Andy Slavitt, Olivia Rodrigo, Jimmy Kimmel, Jon Stewart, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Peyton Manning and Rihanna’s Savage x Fenty. 

For the full list of winners visit: 

Hosted by comedian Roy Wood Jr. (The Daily Show with Trevor Noah, Roy Wood Jr.: Imperfect Messenger) the Webby Awards’ star-studded ceremony – presented by Verizon – will take place in New York City on Monday, May 16, and will celebrate the best of the Internet. Fans can follow and watch show highlights including hallmark 5-Word Speeches from the night’s big winners on May 16th at #Webbys on Instagram and Twitter, and the show at

Webby Winners are selected by IADAS. Members include Arlan Hamilton, Founder and Managing Partner, Backstage Capital; Ziwe Fumudoh, Comedian & Writer; Quinta Brunson, Writer, Director and Actor; Felecia Hatcher, CEO, Black Ambition, Sridhar Ramaswamy; Co-Founder & CEO, Neeva; David Droga; Founder and Chairman, Droga5, R/GA; Kerstin Emhoff, Co-Founder & CEO, PRETTYBIRD; Dan Pfeiffer, Co-Host, Pod Save America and Werner Vogels, VP & CTO Amazon. 

The Webby Awards will once again honor a group of individuals for their outstanding work on the Internet this year with Special Achievement Awards. They join the ranks of past Special Achievement Winners including Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Prince, Solange, Miley Cyrus, Dwayne (The Rock) Johnson, Ava Duverney and Black Lives Matter founder Opal Tometti. This year’s Special Achievement Winners are:

  • Webby Artist of the Year – Megan Thee Stallion for her use of the Internet to blaze artistic trails and to advocate for Black women to be confident, respected and protected.
  • Special Achievement Award – Drew Barrymore for bringing joy to the Internet with her incredible success in entertaining online audiences everywhere, and for connecting consumers with the high-quality, direct-to-consumer brands Beautiful Kitchenware and Flower Beauty. 
  • Webby Special Achievement Award – Takashi Murakami for his lifelong career creating experimental art, and for bringing his talents to the new frontier of NFT art, notably through his CloneX NFT drop with RTFKT Studios and his upcoming MURAKAMI.FLOWERS.
  • Webby Best Actor – Adam Scott for his incredible performance in the AppleTV+ series Severance.
  • Webby Social Movement of the Year – Organizers of Florida’s “Say Gay” Movement for continuing a movement for the protection of transgender youth against discriminatory bills and legislation through #SayGay, and for using the Internet to draw attention to the urgent need to address policies that endanger the lives of trans and LGBTQ people everywhere.
  • Webby Lifetime Achievement Award – NFT inventors Anil Dash & Kevin McCoy for developing a block-chain powered way for artists to own and monetize digital work, which laid the groundwork for what would be known as Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs)

“We are so proud to recognize this year’s Webby Winners.” said Claire Graves, President of The Webby Awards. “We can’t wait to bring them together at The Webby Awards in NYC with Roy Wood Jr. as our host. After two years of remote shows, this is going to be a night for Internet bangers only.”

The Academy also announced National Geographic as the Webby Media Company of the Year, for earning the most honors across all Webby categories, winning an impressive 11 awards overall. This is the third time National Geographic has earned this accolade. 

The 26th Annual Webby Awards, presented by Verizon, will take place on Monday, May 16, 2022, at Cipriani Wall Street. Fans can follow the action and watch show highlights, special moments, and hallmark 5-Word Speeches from the night’s big Winners at #Webbys on Instagram and Twitter, and the show at 

KPMG provides vote tabulation consulting for The Webby Awards. To view the full list of Winners, please visit 

2022 Winner Highlights

About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites and Mobile Sites; Video; Advertising, Media and PR; Apps & Software, Social; Podcasts; Games and Virtual & Remote. Established in 1996, The Webby Awards received more than 14,300 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide this year. The Webby Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include Verizon, WP Engine, Canva, Omidyar Network, YouGov, NAACP, KPMG, Fast Company, Wall Street Journal, MediaPost, Podcast Movement, TheFutureParty and AIGA.

Find The Webby Awards Online:


Instagram: @thewebbyawards

Twitter: @TheWebbyAwards

TikTok: @thewebbyawards

Linkedin: The Webby Awards