Celebrity Judges for The 1998 Webby Awards


Judie Mulligan,
Fleishman-Hillard Public Relations, 415.356.1086


Online voters can win a trip to the Webby Awards

San Francisco (January 16, 1998) – Chicago Bulls superstar Dennis Rodman, former California Governor Jerry Brown, Dilbert creator Scott Adams, and Jane magazine editor Jane Pratt ” along with 91 other luminaries in media, entertainment, and new media ” will serve as judges for this year’s Webby Awards, producer and creative director Tiffany Shlain announced today.

The 1998 Webby Awards ceremony will take place March 6, 1998 at San

Francisco’s elegant Palace of Fine Arts and the Exploratorium. More than

2,000 movers and shakers in cyberculture, media and entertainment are

expected to attend. The Webbies are widely

recognized as the most sought-after honor in digital media.

“The Webbies recognize the best, brightest, and boldest of the medium,”

said Shlain. “We’re excited to have a judging panel that reflects and

appreciates these qualities.”

The online community can also vote for the Webbies’ “People’s Voice Awards” at until January 31, where they’ll be automatically entered to win a trip for two to the March 6 ceremony in San Francisco. The Webby Awards voting site will also carry a live webcast of the event at 8:00 p.m. PST on March 6. An amazing 50,000 people have already registered to vote, with a flurry of voting expected during the last two weeks of voting.

Other confirmed judges include: John Markoff, West Coast Correspondent of The New York Times; director Allison Anders (Grace of My Heart, Gas, Food, & Lodging); Thomas Dolby, musician and CEO of Silicon Valley-based Headspace Inc.; Greg LeFevre, CNN SF bureau chief; Joseph Montebello, creative director at Harper Collins; Dave Eggers, editor for Esquire; Les Blank, documentary filmmaker; Jon Plunkett, creative director at Wired ; Larry Harvey, Founder of Burning Man, and Rand and Robyn Miller, creators of Myst and Riven CD-ROMs. A full list of judges follows.

Judges will choose one winner from five nominees in each of nineteen

categories: Arts, Community, Education, Film, Games, Health, Home, Living, Money/Business, Music, News, Politics/Law, Print/Zines, Radio, Science, Sports, TV, Travel, and Weird.

About The Webby Awards

The Webby Awards honor the best creative and innovative Web sites of the year-and the talented editorial, technical, and design teams behind them. The Webbies are the biggest night of the year for the online world. To date, the sponsors of this year’s event

include Alice 97.3 FM, Absolut Vodka, LinkExchange, Real Networks,

Chromatek, Princeton Graphics, Netopia, Rent-A-Computer, Rocket Lab, Hotel Triton, The Internet Industry Standard, and Gateway Limousine. The webcast on March 6 will be produced by The Who and How Entertainment Network. For additional press information and a complete list of nominees, please visit

Confirmed Judges for the 1998 Webby Awards:

Scott Adams, Creator of Dilbert comic strip and books

Allison Anders, Film Director (Grace of My Heart, Gas, Food and Lodging)

John Perry Barlow, Co-Founder of The Electronic Frontier Foundation

John Battelle, President and Publisher of The Internet Industry Standard

Les Blank, Documentary Filmmaker

Richard Brandt, Editor in Chief of Upside magazine

Jerry Brown, Former Governor of California, Founder of We The People

Susan Casey, Creative Director of Outside magazine

Malcolm Casselle, Co-founder and CTO of NetNoir

Denise Castellucci, Producer of Voices of Adoption

Stewart Cheifet, President of PCTV

Sarah Clark, Morning Co-host at San Francisco’s CBS Affiliate 97.3 KLLC

Thomas Dolby, CEO of Headspace Inc.

Esther Dyson, Chairman of Edventure Holdings Inc.

Dave Eggers, Editor for Esquire magazine

Ira Flatow, Executive Producer/Host “Science Friday”- NPR

Mary Furlong, CEO of Third Age Media

Rob Glaser, CEO and Chairman of Real Networks

Ariel Gore, Editor in Chief of Hipmama zine

Larry Harvey, Founder of Burning Man

Amy Johns, Section Editor at Wired magazine

Hal Josephson, Executive Director of the Invision Awards Festival

Tom King, CEO and President of CompuTalk Radio

David Kline, Author, Columnist, and Business Consultant

Jaron Lanier, Composer and Computer Scientist

Todd Lappin, Associate Editor at Wired magazine

Greg LeFevre, CNN San Francsico Bureau Chief

Cheryl Lucanegro, VP of Sales and Marketing of The Internet Industry Standard

Ed Leibowitz, Freelance writer

Sue Levin, President of WWWomen Inc.

John Markoff, New York Times West Coast Correspondent

Marleen McDaniel, CEO of Wire Networks

Rand and Robyn Miller, Creators of Myst and Riven CD-ROMs

Joseph Montebello, Creative Director at Harper Collins

G.M. O’Connell, Chairman of Modem Media, President of TNTechnologies

Ellen Pack, Founder of Wire Networks

Tony Parisi, CTO Intervista and Co-creator of VRML

Mark Pauline, Director of Survival Reasearch Laboratories

Mark Pesce, Chairman and CTO of Blitcom, LLc. and Co-creator of VRML

John Plunkett, Creative Director of Wired magazine

Kim Polese, CEO and President of Marimba

Jane Pratt, Editor in Chief for Jane magazine

Dennis Rodman, Forward for The Chicago Bulls

Larry Rowe, Professor of Computer Science, U.C. Berkeley

Paul Saffo, Head of The Institute for the Future

Nathan Shedroff, Creative Director at Vivid Studios

RU Sirius, Editor In Chief of Axcess magazine

Kevin Smith, Film Director (Clerks, Mall Rats, Chasing Amy)

Eric Tyson, Syndicated money columnist

Hal Varian, Dean of The School of Information Management, U.C. Berkeley

Jonathan Wells, Director of The Resfest Film Festival

Brad Wieners, Author of Reality Check

James Worthy, FOX Sports Analyst

Zak Zaidman, Co-founder of Gravity, Inc.