Nominees Announced, Vote until April 18th

I’d Like to Thank The Academy.Com…


Judie Mulligan,

Fleishman-Hillard Public Relations, 415.356.1086



Independent Academy to Recognize Excellence in New Media

San Francisco (April 22, 1998) – Following in the footsteps of film, music, and

literature, organizers of The Webby Awards® today announced the formation
of The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences,
an organization dedicated to the advancement of the digital arts and sciences.
According to Tiffany Shlain, a founding member of The Academy and Executive
Producer/Creative Director of The Webby Awards, The Academy will include
individuals who have contributed to the development of the new media
industry from a creative, technical, or professional standpoint. The third annual Webby
Awards are scheduled to take place in March 1999.
“An official academy of professionals is crucial to advancing innovation
and providing creative leadership as the new media industry matures,” said
The IADAS’ 250 charter members will include the respected 95-member Webby
Awards judging academy from the last two years and the principal creative
members of all Webby Award-winning sites.
“This is an important step in terms of expanding The Webby Awards,” said
Kelly Conlin, President of IDG (International Data Group), the company
responsible for The Webby Awards. “In order to identify and honor the best
Web sites, we need the input of the most creative minds in the industry.”
As an industry-wide organization, the IADAS will also supervise and sponsor
a number of year-round activities, including a newsletter, online and
offline events, and special awards and conferences that bring people
together from inside and outside the industry to share ideas and
information. The IADAS will also assume nominating and judging
responsibilities for each year’s Webby Awards.
The Webby Awards have become the online world’s biggest night of the year.
In addition to the more than 2,000 digerati who attended the March 6th
ceremony in San Francisco this year, over 100,000 online fans participated
by voting for their own favorite sites in the People’s Voice Awards and
thousands more watched the live Webcast of the awards.
Judges for the 1998 awards included Chicago Bulls superstar Dennis
Rodman, former California Governor Jerry Brown, Dilbert creator Scott
Adams, industry guru Esther Dyson, Jane magazine editor Jane Pratt, film
director Kevin Smith (Chasing Amy, Clerks), and Thomas Dolby, musician
(“She Blinded Me With Science”) and CEO of Headspace Inc.
About The Webby Awards
The Webby Awards honor the best creative and innovative Web sites of the
year – and the talented editorial, technical, and design teams behind them.
Sponsors of the 1998 Webby Awards included Absolut Vodka, Alice 97.3 FM,
LinkExchange, PC World, Chromatek, Rocket Lab LLC, San Francisco Chronicle,
The Internet Industry Standard, Princeton Graphic Systems, Odwalla, Peet’s
Coffee & Tea, Gateway Limousine, and Hotel Triton.
The Webcast, sponsored by Netopia, Rent-A-Computer, RealNetworks, and
Abovenet was produced by The Who and How Entertainment Network.


About IDG Conference Management Company
IDG Conference Management Company is a full service information technology
conference development and management company, producing the Agenda,
Spotlight, CEO’s Only and DEMO conferences, and also publishing DemoLetter,
and DemoWeekly, IDG Conference Management Company is a division of IDG
World Expo, the producer of 110 computer-related expositions and
conferences in 35 countries. IDG World Expo is a business unit of
International Data Group (IDG), the leading global provider of IT media,
research, conferences and expositions. More information and access to 125
IDG World Wide Web sites is available at