Jack Myers Teams Up with Webby Awards to Support New Webby Categories Honoring Outstanding Media Strategy


For information contact:
Gita Chandra:
Patrick Kowalczyk:

PKPR, 212.627.8098




New Categories Honor Best Use of Online Media,
Best Use of Social Media, and Best Integrated Media Plan

New York, NY (November 17, 2009) Veteran media economist and analyst Jack Myers is teaming up with the Webby Awards to support The Webby Awards’ first-ever categories honoring media planning strategy.

The three new categories — Best Use of Online Media, Best Use of Social Media, and Best Integrated Media Plan — honor brands that combine exceptional creative with sophisticated media planning strategy to reach online audiences in the most effective, innovative ways. Advertising and media agencies have until December 18, 2009 to submit entries for the 14th Annual Webby Awards. To enter, visit

Myers is the author of the Jack Myers Media Business Report, an influential economic report for corporate subscribers that has provided insights and proprietary research on media industry trends for more than 20 years. Myers also presented the Media Innovation and Creativity Awards, which honored excellence in media strategy, from 2002 to 2008.

In addition to serving as a member of the judging academy, Myers will consult with the Webby Awards on criteria for the new categories, and will assist with recruitment of new judges like Optimedia’ Strategic Insights Senior Vice President Greg Kahn, OMD USA CEO Alan Cohen, and GroupM Director Interaction Worldwide Rob Norman. He will also promote each new category through his network and website including the Jack Myers Media Business Report.

“No one knows better what makes an effective and successful media strategy than Jack Myers,” said David-Michel Davies, executive director of The Webby Awards. “We are pleased to join with Jack in recognizing the leaders who are setting new standards in online media strategy.”

“Media strategy is one of the most important aspects of the media industry and yet it is often overlooked in terms of recognition,” said Myers. “I am thrilled that The Webby Awards recognize the importance of honoring excellence and innovation in this field and I look forward to raising awareness of these categories within the industry.”

Nominees for the 14th Annual Webby Awards will be announced in April 2010, and winners will be honored at a gala ceremony in New York City on June 14, 2010.

The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 650-person judging academy whose members include: Vinton Cerf, Arianna Huffington, Martha Stewart, Twitter’s Biz Stone, Alex Bogusky of Crispin, Porter + Bogusky, Matt Freeman and Harvey Weinstein.

About The Webby Awards
Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile web sites. Established in 1996, the 13th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Microsoft Silverlight; The Creative Group; .ORG; YouTube; Getty Images; Wieden + Kennedy; The Barbarian Group; The New York Times Company; Behance; Limelight Networks; IDG; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail and Museum of the Moving Image.