Nominees Announced, Vote until April 18th

Kicking Off Its 15th Year, The Webby Awards Expand to Reflect Sweeping Impact of Mobile Apps


For information contact:
Patrick Kowalczyk:
Brian Abrams:
PKPR, 212.627.8098


Twitter, Foursquare, Yelp Co-Founders Among Judges for New Mobile and App Categories
Webbys Launch Annual Call for Entries for Year’s Best Websites,
Videos, Interactive Advertising, Mobile, and Apps

New York, NY (September 14, 2010) – Kicking off its 15th year celebrating the best of the Internet, The Webby Awards today announced it is expanding its mission to reflect the profound impact that apps and the mobile Web are having on digital culture and commerce.

As part of the launch for its call for entries for the year’s best Websites, online film and video, and interactive advertising, The Webby Awards debuted a new suite of categories saluting apps for handheld and tablet devices. A diverse mix of mobile experts, including Twitter co-founder Biz Stone, Foursquare co-founder Dennis Crowley, and new Academy members such as CEO Jeremy Stoppelman, UrbanDaddy CEO Lance Broumand, and Thrillist co-founder Ben Lerer will judge the new awards.

To enter work in the 15th Annual Webby Awards, visit The early entry deadline is October 29, 2010.

“In our fifteen years honoring the best of the Internet, we’ve seen few developments have as profound an effect as apps and the mobile Web,” said David-Michel Davies, executive director of The Webby Awards. “Apps have transformed the online experience, changing the way we access content, and enhancing every aspect of our daily lives. We’re looking forward to honoring not only these pioneering innovators but also the Websites, videos, and advertising that continue to shape the Internet’s future.”

Last year, the 14th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from more than 60 countries. The awards season was capped by a star-studded June gala showcasing an influential group of Internet leaders, including Roger Ebert, Internet co-inventor Vinton Cerf, and’s creator Andrey Ternovskiy.

In keeping with tradition, all winners have the opportunity to deliver one of The Webby Awards’ famous five-word speeches. In conjunction with the call for entries kick-off, The Webby Awards debuted a new video featuring Amy Poehler, Zach Galifianakis, OK Go, Buzz Aldrin and other Webby winners that reveals how many five-word speeches can be delivered during the typical 60-second award show acceptance speech.

Nominees for the 15th Annual Webby Awards will be announced in April, and winners will be honored at the gala ceremony in June 2011.

The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 650-person judging academy that includes Martha Stewart, David Bowie, Vinton Cerf, and Arianna Huffington.

About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile web sites. Established in 1996, the 14th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Microsoft Expression; Aol; YouTube; Pepsi; Aquent; Yahoo!; HP; Sony Electronics; .CO; Corbis Images; Rackspace Hosting; Motorola; Southwest Airlines;; East Media; IDG; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail; Museum of the Moving Image; Behance; Business Insider; Time Out New York; paidContent and The Guardian.