14th Annual Lovie Awards - Extended Deadline Aug 2nd ENTER NOW

Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Great Websites: The Webby Awards Seeks Votes for the Best of the Web



Michael Kaminer Public Relations, 212.627.8098
Patrick Kowalczyk, patrick@mkpr.com

Leah Schmerl, leah@mkpr.comcom



Exercise Your Right to Vote Before July 4, 2001


San Francisco (June 4, 2001) – In a rousing tribute to democracy on the Web, The Fifth Annual Webby Awards is asking the public to vote for their favorite Web sites in the fifth annual People’s Voice Awards, sponsored by EarthLink.

For the second year, the Webbys are also accepting write-in votes in each of the awards’ twenty-seven categories. In fact, organizers revealed today that the popular Web site, Hot or Not? (www.hotornot.com), is currently leading the Fashion category, thanks to an aggressive write-in campaign.

The deadline for voting is July 4th, 2001, and winners will be announced by ABC newsman Sam Donaldson during the live Webby Awards Webcast on ABCNEWS.com. The Webcast will be beamed live from the elegant San Francisco War Memorial Opera House beginning at 10 PM EDT.

“EarthLink is proud to sponsor the People’s Voice Award and we believe that it represents the best of the Real Internet and the ultimate expression of interactivity.” said Claudia Caplan, EarthLink’s vice president of branding.

Hailed as “The ‘It’ Award” by Vanity Fair and “The Hot Ticket” by Entertainment Weekly, The Webby Awards is the leading international honor for Web sites and individual achievement in technology and creativity. The awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, a 350-member organization dedicated to the creative, professional, and technical advancement of new media.

More than 3,500 digital dignitaries and wired celebs will attend the awards show, which has quickly become the Internet’s biggest night of the year thanks to its five-words-or-less speech limit, critically acclaimed production, outrageous fashions, and high-profile judges. Past judges have included David Bowie, Tina Brown, Matt Groening, and Larry Ellison.

Web fans can cast their votes at http://www.webbyawards.com/peoplesvoice/index.html.

Rare Medium designed The People’s Voice Awards online voting system and the balloting is audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Winners will be announced at The 2001 Webby Awards 2000 on July 18, 2001 at at San Francisco’s elegant War Memorial Opera House. The entire event will be Webcast at http://www.webbyawards.com beginning at 8:00 PM PST.

About EarthLink
The #1 Provider of the Real Internet(TM), EarthLink brings the magic of the Internet to 4.8 million subscribers every day. Headquartered in Atlanta, EarthLink provides a full range of innovative access, hosting and e-commerce solutions to thousands of communities through over 7,500 dial-up points of presence, and broadband and wireless technologies. EarthLink is committed to doing an exceptional job of pleasing its subscribers, shareholders and the community by following the company’s Core Values and Beliefs [http://www.earthlink.net/about/mission.html]. Information about EarthLink services is available by calling 800-395-8425 and through EarthLink’s Web site at www.earthlink.net.

About the Webby Awards
The Webby Awards is the leading international honor for Web sites and individual achievement in technology and creativity. The critically acclaimed theatre production attended by 3000 people, includes films, animations, installation art and performances. The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences selects the nominees, winners, and presents the awards event. Sponsors and Partners for The Fifth Annual Webby Awards include Intel, Adobe, IDG, Metropolis Editorial, The Creative Group, Commission Junction, EarthLink, Getty Images, Metropolis Editorial, Diesel Design, Rare Medium, Entertainment Weekly, Variety, Access Magazine, Wired, and Artbyte. Balloting is audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers. For more information visit http://www.webbyawards.com.

About the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences
The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences is dedicated to the creative, technical, and professional progress of the Internet and evolving forms of interactive media. The Academy’s goal is to assemble a brilliant panel of leading new media experts, visionaries, journalists, and luminaries to propel the Internet and Interactive Technology into the future. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes over 350 members such as film director Francis Ford Coppola, musician Bjork, Chairman of Miramax Talk Media Tina Brown, cyberguru Esther Dyson, creator of “The Simpsons” Matt Groening, Public Radio International Personality Ira Glass, and Oracle Chairman Larry Ellison. Members also include writers and editors from publications such as The New York Times, Wired, Forbes, Details, Fast Company, Elle, The Los Angeles Times, Vibe, and WallPaper. For more information, visit http://www.iadas.net/