The 11th Annual Webby Awards Announce First-Ever Mobile Award Winners

Gita Chandra,
Patrick Kowalczyk,
MKPR, 212.627.8098



New York, NY (May 1, 2007) – The 11th Annual Webby Awards today announced winners in three new categories honoring achievement in Websites designed specifically for mobile devices.

The winners are Maxim Mobile (News & Entertainment), Ask Mobile (Listings & Updates), and Thumbplay (Mobile Marketplace & Services). The new mobile categories are presented with dotMobi, the company behind the first and only Internet address designed specifically for mobile phones.

In addition, over 400,000 votes were cast by people around the world for their favorite sites, videos, and interactive advertising in The Webby People’s Voice Awards presented by Verizon.

Reflecting critical and popular consensus, Ask Mobile and Thumbplay also won People’s Voice Awards, while the public split with Webby judges and chose Project Runway Wireless as their favorite News and Entertainment mobile site.

A full list of both Webby Awards and People’s Voice Awards winners can be found at

Hailed as the “OSCARS® of the Internet” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 550-person judging academy whose members include Vinton Cerf, R/GA’s Chief Bob Greenberg, “Simpson’s” creator Matt Groening, Arianna Huffington, and Harvey Weinstein.

“Mobile content has seen unprecedented growth this past year, and the unique format has inspired enormous creativity and innovation,” said David-Michel Davies, executive director of The Webby Awards. “We’re proud to be honoring the innovators setting the benchmarks for this emerging field.”

Winners will be announced on May 1st and honored at the star-studded 11th Annual Webby Awards Gala in New York on June 5th. Hosted by comedian Rob Corddry (“The Winner,” “The Daily Show”), the ceremony will showcase winners delivering the Webbys famous five-word speeches.

For information on nominees in other Webby categories, including Websites, film and video, and interactive advertising, visit

About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “OSCARS® of the Internet” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Web sites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile web sites. Established in 1996, the 11th Annual Webby Awards received a record 8,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Adobe; The Creative Group; Verizon; AOL Video; dotMobi; The Barbarian Group; CondéNast|CondéNet; Level3; Adweek; Fortune; Variety; Wired; IDG: Brightcove; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail and Museum of the Moving Image.

OSCAR® is a federally registered trademark of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The Webby Awards and the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences are in no way affiliated with or sponsored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences or OSCAR®.