11th Annual Webby Awards Launch Call for Entries

For Immediate Release
Contact: Patrick Kowalczyk,
Gita Chandra,

MKPR, 212.627.8098




Reflecting Web’s Dominance in Business and Pop Culture,
Webbys Launch Major Expansion with Top Names in Advertising and Entertainment

New York, NY (September 19, 2006) -Building on its decade-long position

as the preeminent awards for Websites, The Webby Awards today launched its 11th Annual Call for

Entries with the debut of major new awards in interactive advertising and online film and video.

Hailed as the “OSCARS® of the Internet” by The New York Times and “one of the most prestigious

awards in the world” by the BBC, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring

excellence on the Internet.

Joining forces with some of the biggest names in advertising and entertainment, including R/GA’s

Bob Greenberg, Wieden+Kennedy’s John Jay, Harvey Weinstein, and Showtime’s Matt Blank, The Webby

Awards unveiled 15 new categories recognizing outstanding achievement in interactive advertising

and also announced the world’s first major awards honoring original film and video premiering on

the Internet.

“The Web is now the dominant force reshaping pop culture and business and nowhere is that more

evident than in the emergence of interactive advertising and the boom in film and video now

premiering on the ‘Net” said David-Michel Davies, Executive Director of The Webby Awards. “Having

set the standards for Websites, we are thrilled to now honor the innovators who are taking the

medium in exciting new creative directions.”

The Webbys’ major expansion comes on the heels of its most successful awards season ever. Last

year’s Webbys received a record 5,500 entries in 70+ categories from over 40 countries, and was

capped by a star-studded June gala showcasing an inspired and influential group of Internet

luminaries including Prince, MySpace founder Chris DeWolfe, Arianna Huffington, and author Thomas


To enter your Website, interactive advertising, or online film & video in The 11th Annual Webby

Awards’ more than 100 categories, visit The early entry deadline is October

27, 2006.

With Internet advertising breaking revenue records and redefining the media landscape, Davies

said the timing was right for The Webby Awards to establish new categories recognizing the

extraordinary range of innovation in the field.

R/GA’s Bob Greenberg is one of more than fifty advertising industry leaders who will serve on the

judging panel for the new interactive advertising categories. Other members include: Jeff

Benjamin, Creative Director, Crispin Porter + Bogusky; Matt Freeman, CEO Worldwide Tribal DDB;

David Eastman, CEO,; and Annie Wong, Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather,

Hong Kong.

The Webby Film & Video Awards will showcase eleven categories including Animation, Comedy, Drama

and Reality. Davies said Weinstein and Blank will lead a judging panel of entertainment industry

insiders and creative celebrities that includes The Firm’s Rich Frank, Sundance Channel’s Larry

Aidem, and Jim Gianopulos, Chairman and CEO, Fox Entertainment. The awards, which are being

spearheaded by former Variety publisher Gerry Byrne, will be presented at a star-studded

ceremony and screening on the eve of The 11th Annual Webby Awards in June 2007.

The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, a global

organization with over 550 members including musician David Bowie, Virgin Group founder Richard

Branson, Internet inventor and Google Chief Internet Evangelist Vinton Cerf, “Simpsons” creator

Matt Groening, Real Networks CEO Rob Glaser, and fashion designer Max Azria.

Nominees will be announced in April, and winners will be unveiled in June 2007.

About The Webby Awards:

Called the “OSCARS® of the Internet” by the New York Times, the Webby is the leading international

award honoring excellence in Web design, creativity, usability and functionality. Established in

1996, the 10th Annual Webby Awards received over 5,500 entries from all 50 states and over 40

countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts

and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: AOL, The Creative Group;

Verizon; Adweek; Fortune; Variety; Wired; IDG; iStockphoto; American Marketing Association;

PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail and Museum of the Moving Image. For more

information visit

OSCAR® is a federally registered trademark of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The Webby Awards and the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences are in no way affiliated with or sponsored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences or OSCAR®.