The 6th Annual Webby Awards; Start Countdown to its Famous Five-Word Speeches



Michael Kaminer Public Relations, 212.627.8098
Patrick Kowalczyk,

Jill Feldman,



Public, celebrities asked to submit their own short-winded speeches

San Francisco (June 13, 2002) – If Russell Crowe had won a Webby Award, he could forget about reading his favorite poem. And Halle Berry would have gotten the hook after “Oh, my God. Oh, my?”

That’s because The Webby Awards limit winners to five words. And, in anticipation of The 6th Annual Webby Awards, which will be held on Tuesday, June 18th in San Francisco, Webby organizers want to know what you would say if you won a Webby.

Beginning today, fans that have a way with words can submit their two cents (Or should we say five cents?) by visiting the Webby Awards Web site at The best short-winded speeches, as well as those submitted by the Webbys’ celebrity judges, will be posted on the Web site on June 18th.

Highlights from last year’s ceremony included:

  • “Bush volunteers. It’s that easy.” – VolunteerMatch (Best Activism Site)
  • “Thanks. Now please go away.” – Travelocity (Best Travel Site)
  • “I just like to dance.” – Dancing Paul (Best Personal Site)

Hailed by The Wall Street Journal as a celebration of “sites that pave important paths to the Internet’s next phase,” The Webby Awards is the leading international honors for Web sites and individual achievement in creativity and technology. The awards are determined by the Academy, a diverse, 350-person organization whose membership includes David Bowie, Esther Dyson, Rob Glaser, Susan Sarandon, and Vint Cerf.

In addition to taking a shot at crafting a five-word speech, Webby organizers are also asking fans to answer four provocative questions that will also be asked of winners during this year’s ceremony. The questions are:

  • What have you changed your mind about lately?
  • How has technology changed your life?
  • What have you once been really wrong about?
  • Arthur C. Clarke said “When it comes to technology, most people overestimate the impact in the short term, and underestimate it in the long term.” What do you think we are underestimating?

For those who can’t attend The 6th Annual Webby Awards, The Webby Awards Web site will showcase the winners, speeches, and photos from ceremony immediately following the event.

Fans who voted in the People’s Voice Awards, the Webbys tribute to democracy on the Web, will also be able to log in and compare how their votes matched up to the official Webby winners.


About the Webby Awards
Founded in 1996, The Webby Awards is the leading international honors for consumer Web sites and individual achievement in technology and creativity. The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences selects the nominees, winners, and presents the awards event. Sponsors for The Sixth Annual Webby Awards include International Data Group (IDG), The Creative Group (TCG), SBC, Hewlett Packard, Google, Rackspace, Getty Images, Elias Arts, Handspring and partner Nielsen//NetRatings. Balloting is audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers. For more information visit

About the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences
The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences is dedicated to the creative, technical, and professional progress of the Internet and evolving forms of interactive media. The Academy’s goal is to assemble a brilliant panel of leading new media experts, visionaries, journalists, and luminaries to propel the Internet and Interactive Technology into the future. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes over 350 members such as Bjork, Tina Brown, Esther Dyson, Matt Groening, Ira Glass, and Larry Ellison. Members also include writers and editors from publications such as The New York Times, Wired, Forbes, Details, Fast Company, Elle, The Los Angeles Times, Vibe, and wallpaper*. For more information, visit