The Webby Awards 2001 Will Take the Stage at San Francisco’s War Memorial Opera House


Patrick Kowalczyk,

Maria Landin-Charley,

Michael Kaminer Public Relations, 212.627.8098


Fifth Annual Webby Awards Honor Excellence on the Web

San Francisco (February 20, 2001) – Continuing to embrace the vast talent on the Internet, The Webby Awards┬« today announced that the fifth annual award show will take place on Wednesday, July 18th at San Francisco’s legendary and recently renovated War Memorial Opera House. The Awards are the leading international honor for Web sites, and individual achievement in technology and creativity and are presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, the voting body of The Webby Awards. “The Webbys” recognizes a diverse range of categories from Activism, Health and Film, to Music, Community and Travel.

“The 2001 show will be especially significant, as the Internet industry has experienced growing pains this past year. It will be a night to salute the perseverance of leaders in the medium,” said Tiffany Shlain, founder and director of The Webby Awards. “We’re truly excited to continue rewarding excellence on the Web. Now more than ever, people will be looking to the Awards to as an indicator of quality.”

Choosing a venue that matched the unique creativity and spirit of the Webbys was an exciting challenge. The recently refurbished War Memorial Opera House was selected for its magnitude, beauty and its surprising availability! The Opera House has been unavailable to book venues other than the opera or ballet for the past 8 years.

This critically acclaimed, irreverent and engaging show rallies celebrities and luminaries, features unique films, art installations, and animations to honor excellence and creativity in technology. Last year’s event atop San Francisco’s historic Nob Hill featured Tony Award-winning actor Alan Cumming as master of ceremonies, and such presenters as actress/comedian Sandra Bernhard, and Talk Magazine editor/chief, Tina Brown.

Currently, The Academy is reviewing thousands of sites submitted for 2001, and will announce its nominees on April 26. Balloting is audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers.

According to Maya Draisin, Director of The Academy, “This year’s submissions continue to represent outstanding content, design and interactivity, underscoring the momentum in today’s rapidly changing industry. While the number of entries remains constant, the quality and innovation continues to impress.” Shlain, Draisin, and the core team of players who design each year’s show are now preparing for July’s event. The thought and planning behind The Webby Awards reflects the diversity of the Web and the brilliance of industry individuals. This will be demonstrated in The Webbys’ highly entertaining program, notorious for its distinctive “five-words-or-less” acceptance speeches.

The Fifth Annual Webby Awards will be judged by members of the diverse 350-person Academy. Members include Francis Ford Coppola, Esther Dyson, Bjork, Larry Ellison, Deepak Chopra, Julia Child, and Matt Groening. Watch for the announcement of the master of ceremonies, presenters and the newly selected Academy judges in the coming months.

About the Webby Awards
The Webby Awards is the leading international honors for consumer Web sites and individual achievement in technology and creativity. The critically acclaimed theatre production attended by 3000 attendees, includes films, animations, installation art and performances. The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences selects the nominees, winners, and presents the awards event. Sponsors for The Fifth Annual Webby Awards include Intel, Adobe, International Data Group, Metropolis Editorial, The Creative Group and Commission Junction. Balloting is audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers. For more information visit

About the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences
The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences is dedicated to the creative, technical, and professional progress of the Internet and evolving forms of interactive media. The Academy’s goal is to assemble a brilliant panel of leading new media experts, visionaries, journalists, and luminaries to propel the Internet and Interactive Technology into the future. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes over 350 members such as film director Francis Ford Coppola, musician Bjork, Chairman of Miramax Talk Media Tina Brown, cyberguru Esther Dyson, creator of “The Simpsons” Matt Groening, National Public Radio personality Ira Glass, and Oracle Chairman Larry Ellison. Members also include writers and editors from publications such as The New York Times, Wired, Forbes, Details, Fast Company, Elle, The Los Angeles Times, Vibe, and WallPaper For more information, visit