The Webby Awards Announces the 19th Annual Call for Entries


Contact: Anne Muscarella
(212) 918-2044

The Webby Awards Announces the 19th Annual Call for Entries

New award categories will recognize excellence in technical achievement, branded entertainment and media
NEW YORK September 8, 2014The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, (IADAS) announced Today kicked off its 19th year honoring outstanding achievement on the Internet with the official opening of the Call for Entries.


Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by the New York Times, The Webbys celebrates the year’s best Websites, Online Film & Video, Interactive Advertising & Media, Mobile Sites & Apps, and Social. The early entry deadline for submissions is October 24, 2014. Nominees will be announced in April 2015, and the hallmark Webby ceremony will be held in spring 2015 in New York City.

Entrants compete not only to win a Webby, but to deliver their 5-Word Speech and follow in the footsteps of previous years’ winners including 2014 Webby Artist of the Year Banksy (“Somebody painted over it.”), Shane Smith for the Creators Project in Art (“A toast to the Webbys.”), and Best Travel Winner Airbnb (“We’re sleeping in your bed.”) To date Webby 5-word speeches have garnered more than 10 million views on

New to this year’s Webbys are a select group of new categories, including Web Technical Achievement, which will be judged by Academy members with technical expertise including Internet co-inventor Vint Cerf, Tumblr founder David Karp, and a suite of new members including Eben Upton, founder of Raspberry Pi, and Ana Patterson, VP of Engineering at Google.

Additional Media and Branded Entertainment categories such as Best Branded Series and Best Data Driven Media Campaign will be judged by the Academy’s Interactive Advertising & Media division including Wieden + Kennedy Global Creative Chief Colleen DeCourcy, Droga5 founder David Droga, and Anselmos Ramos, Executive Creative Director at Ogilvy & Mather Brazil. Visit for a full listing of categories for the 19th Annual Webby Awards.

Enter by October 24th at to take advantage of the early entry period.

Deloitte provides vote tabulation consultant services for The Webby Awards.

About The Webby Awards
Hailed as the Internet’s highest honor by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, Interactive Advertising & Media, Online Film & Video, Mobile & Apps, and Social. Established in 1996, The Webby Awards received 12,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide this year. The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Microsoft, Dell, Vitamin T, Leica, MailChimp, Engine Yard, Funny or Die, AdAge, Percolate, BuzzFeed, Mashable, HLN, Business Insider, Creative Bloq, Lurzer’s Archive, Tubefilter, Internet Week New York, and Guardian News and Media.

To Join the conversation
Follow: @TheWebbyAwards
G+: +TheWebbyAwards
Instagram: @TheWebbyAwards