Nominees Announced, Vote until April 18th

The Webby Awards Launches 2002 Call for Entries



Michael Kaminer Public Relations, 212.627.8098
Patrick Kowalczyk,

Leah Schmerl, leah@mkpr.comcom


As Web Moves into Second Decade, The Sixth Annual Webby Awards

Begin Search for the Year?s Best Web Sites

San Francisco (November 28, 2001) – Searching for the Web sites that will set the standards for the Web?s second decade, The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences today launched its call for entries for The Sixth Annual Webby Awards.

Hailed by The Wall Street Journal as a celebration of “sites that pave important paths to the Internet’s next phase,? The Webby Awards is the leading international honors for Web sites and individual achievement in creativity and technology. The awards are presented by the Academy, a diverse, 350-person organization whose membership includes Esther Dyson, Susan Sarandon, David Bowie, and Larry Ellison. Winners of The 6th Annual Webby Awards will be announced in May 2002.

With the Web recently marking its tenth anniversary, Maya Draisin, the executive director of the Academy, said that more attention than ever will be focused on this year?s nominees and winners ? and the clues they provide about the future of the Internet.

?The first ten years of the Web were all about building an infrastructure, experimentation, and introducing people to a new medium,? said Draisin. ?As the Web moves into its second decade, the Academy remains committed to celebrating the Web sites and individuals that are setting standards and pushing boundaries.?

The Sixth Annual Webby Awards is seeking submissions in thirty categories: Activism, Best Practices, Broadband, Commerce, Community, Education, Fashion, Film, Finance, Games, Government & Law, Health, Humor, Kids, Living, Music, NetArt, News, Personal Web Site, Politics, Print & Zines, Radio, Science, Services, Spirituality, Sports, Technical Achievement, Travel, TV, and Weird.

?Now in our sixth year, The Webby Awards continue to honor not only the popular sites that set the benchmarks for the industry, but also the smaller Web sites that are doing important work,? said Tiffany Shlain, director and founder of The Webby Awards. ?We?re looking forward to finding another extraordinary mix of sites in 2002.?

To submit a Web site for consideration, visit The Webby Awards Web site at, where you will find submission rules and an official online entry form. Deadline for early-bird entries is December 21st, 2001. Final submission deadline is January 31st, 2002.


About the Webby Awards
The Webby Awards is the leading international honor for Web sites and individual achievement in technology and creativity. The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences selects the nominees, winners, and presents the awards event. For more information visit

About the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences is dedicated to the creative, technical, and professional progress of the Internet and evolving forms of interactive media. The Academy’s goal is to assemble a brilliant panel of leading new media experts, visionaries, journalists, and luminaries to propel the Internet and Interactive Technology into the future. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes over 350 members such as film director Francis Ford Coppola, musician Bjork, Chairman of Talk Media Tina Brown, cyberguru Esther Dyson, creator of “The Simpsons” Matt Groening, Public Radio International Personality Ira Glass, and Oracle Chairman Larry Ellison. Members also include writers and editors from publications such as The New York Times, Wired, Forbes, Details, Fast Company, Elle, The Los Angeles Times, Vibe, and WallPaper. For more information, visit