Nominees Announced, Vote until April 18th

Top Internet Companies Join The Webby Awards In CAll for Entries for the 20th Annual Celebration of the Internet


Contact: Anne Muscarella
(212) 918-2044

Google, Facebook, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, National Geographic, Pitchfork, Droga5, and many more join The Webby Awards announcing the 20th Annual Call for Entries 

Early entry deadline October 30, 2015

(New York, NY) September 15, 2015The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) today announced the kick off of the 20th Annual Webby Awards, honoring the best of the Internet. To mark the beginning of this milestone year and official opening of the Call for Entries period, 20 of the most recognized Webby winning Internet companies including Google, Facebook, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, National Geographic, Pitchfork, Droga5, have created unique design projects offering their perspective on this year’s Webby trend, “The Internet Can’t Be Stopped.”

Each of the 20 works responds to the theme with their own perspective and a new work will be featured on each week with an interview explaining their view. The Internet visionaries behind each of these projects will also participate in a social media takeover of The Webby Awards accounts to share their take with Webby fans.

“We are honored to be celebrating this significant milestone in Webby Awards history with the enthusiasm and creativity of these 20 visionaries who have played an integral role in shaping the last 20 years of the Internet,” said David-Michel Davies, Executive Director of The Webby Awards. “We are excited to share their thought provoking perspectives and designs surrounding the Internet’s impact on our daily lives.”

Celebrating 20 years as “the Internet’s highest honor,” The Webby Awards recognizes the year’s best Websites, Online Film & Video, Advertising & Media, Mobile Sites & Apps, and Social. Nominees will be announced in April 2016, and the hallmark Webby ceremony will be held in Spring 2016 in New York City.

Each year the Webby Awards reflect and refine new categories of achievement online. This year, new categories in Virtual Reality will address the emerging VR industry and the platforms’ creators.

IADAS also welcomed several new members to the judging panel this year, including Vine Founder Russ Yusopov, Vice Media Founder and CEO Shane Smith, Refinery29 Executive Creative Director Piera Gelardi, Gimlet Media Founder and CEO Alex Blumberg, and CEO of The Barbarian Group, Sophie Kelly, among others.

In 2015, The Webby Awards received nearly 13,000 entries from all 50 U.S. states and over 70 countries worldwide, making it the most successful year to date. Entrants this year will compete for an opportunity to join the ranks of previous winners, including Tinder (Breakout of the Year), Funny or Die (Best Humor Website), BuzzFeed (Best News App), HBO GO (Best Streaming Website), SoundCloud (Best Streaming Audio), The Onion (Best Humor Website) and The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt stars Tituss Burgess and Ellie Kemper (Best Actor & Actress),

All entries compete for the Webby Award (as voted on by IADAS) and the Webby People’s Voice Award (as voted online by the fans). Last year, more than 500,000 Internet fans from more than 200 countries and territories around the world signed on to cast their votes. For information on the 20th Annual Webby Awards, please visit

About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, Advertising & Media, Online Film & Video, Mobile Sites & Apps, and Social. Established in 1996, The Webby Awards received nearly 13,000 entries from all 50 states and over 70 countries worldwide this year. The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Google, Grey Goose Vitamin T, Advertising Age, YouTube, Shocase, Code and Theory, Internet Week New York, and The Guardian News Media, Cool Hunting, The Drum, GeekWire, VentureBeat, and Springwise


Find The Webby Awards Online
Snapchat: TheWebbyAwards
Twitter: @TheWebbyAwards


Contact: Anne Muscarella
(212) 918-2044