Watch the best moments from the 27th Annual Webbys WATCH HERE
Honoring the Best
of the Internet

Webbys Launch Call for Entries for Year’s Best Websites, Videos, Interactive Advertising, Mobile, and Apps


For information, contact:

Damiano DeMonte:

Nicki Fertile:

Sunshine, Sachs & Associates: 212-691-2800


New Categories for Corporate Social Responsibility and Mobile/Apps

Early Entry Deadline is October 28, 2011

New York, NY (September 12, 2011) – The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) today announced the call for entries for the 16th Annual Webby Awards. Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by the New York Times, The Webbys celebrates the year’s best websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile and apps. The early entry deadline for is October 28, 2011. Nominees will be announced in April 2012, and the hallmark Webby ceremony will be held in Spring 2012.

Entrants compete not only to win The Webby, but to have their five-word speeches immortalized alongside the likes of former winners Conan O’Brien for Team Coco, Flipboard, Anna Wintour for, mobile game Angry Birds, location-based app foursquare, and Agency of The Year Wieden+Kennedy. Since 2007, Webby Awards 5-word speech videos have garnered 7 million views on

New to this year’s categories are two awards for corporate social responsibility, which will honor both websites, and interactive advertising campaigns that promote a company’s commitment to documenting activities and programs that have a positive impact on the environment, consumers, employees and the public sphere. In recognition of the increasing impact of mobile technology, new awards have also been added for mobile apps and websites.

The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences (IADAS), which nominates and selects the Webby Award winners, is comprised of web industry experts, including mobile phone inventor Martin Cooper, media mogul Arianna Huffington, R/GA Chairman Bob Greenberg, Martha Stewart, and Twitter co-founder Biz Stone. “Our 2011 Webby winners spanned the industry’s most innovative, practical and entertaining pioneers of today’s internet,” said David-Michel Davies, Executive Director of The Webby Awards. “If our 15-year history has shown us anything, the 2012 Webby Award entries will again surprise, educate and revolutionize the internet.”

About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising & media, online film & video, and mobile & apps. Established in 1996, the 15th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: AOL, Aquent, Yahoo!, Microsoft, Ford, Dentyne, Facebook, MLB Advanced Media, Rackspace Hosting, LBi, Buddy Media, YouTube, HP, USA Today, Business Insider, 2advanced.Net, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Time Out New York and Guardian News and Media.



Follow: @TheWebbyAwards