Five-Word Speeches Steal the Show at The 13th Annual Webby Awards

For Immediate Release:

For Immediate Release:
Contact: Gita Chandra (

Patrick Kowalczyk (

PKPR, 212.627.8098



Twitter, Jimmy Fallon, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Trent Reznor, Sarah Silverman,
Lisa Kudrow, Seth MacFarlane Win Special Achievement Awards

New York, NY (June 9, 2009) From late-night host Jimmy Fallon to Web inventor Sir Tim Berners-Lee, winners at Monday night’s 13th Annual Webby Awards proved once again that less is more with a pithy procession of five-word acceptance speeches.

For the first time this year, fans can view individual clips of each speech on the new Webby Awards YouTube Channel ( along with celebrity interviews from the red carpet and backstage and other ceremony highlights.

“Free… open… Keep one Web,” said Berners-Lee.

Berners-Lee received a Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition not only of his role in creating the World Wide Web, but also in guiding its development as a tool for promoting creativity and humanitarian values.

“Thank God Conan got promoted, ” said Fallon, who was honored with a Webby Person of the Year award for his innovative and all-encompassing use of the Internet to build a diehard fan base before the TV launch of his late-night talk show.

Comedian Sarah Silverman was awarded Best Actress for her performance on two fronts: The YouTube hit “I’m F**king Matt Damon” and the viral political appeal “The Great Schlep” (also a Webby winner for Best Political Video).

“Holocaust… did it happen? Yes,” said Silverman.

Other speech highlights included:

“Wait, we didn’t charge anything?”
– Trent Reznor, recognized as Webby Artist of the Year for his work online, including releasing his 2008 studio album The Slip for free download on

“Well thank you. Oh god.”
– Lisa Kudrow (Outstanding Comedic Performance)

“Creativity is a renewable resource.”
– Co-founder Biz Stone on behalf of Twitter (Webby Breakout of the Year)

“What is this for again?”
– Seth MacFarlane (Webby Film & Video Person of the Year)

“Agency for the digital age.”
– R/GA Chief Bob Greenberg, accepting the Webby Agency of the Year Award.

“I didn’t kill newspapers, ok?”
– Arianna Huffington (Best Political Blog)

“Dude, Harvey Weinstein’s here tonight.”
Lake Bell of the’s “Children’s Hospital,” accepting the Comedy: Long Form or Series Award.

“Can everyone get closer together?”
– Flickr (Best Community)

A list of all speeches can be found at:

About The Webby Awards

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 650-person judging academy whose members include David Bowie, Harvey Weinstein, Arianna Huffington, Matt Groening, Vinton Cerf, and Richard Branson.

More than 800 winners, industry leaders, and celebrities attended The 13th Annual Webby Awards, which was hosted by Saturday Night Live’s Seth Meyers.