Skip to the Content

Honoring the best
of the web


14th Annual Webby Special Achievement Award Winners

About Webby Special Achievement Awards

The Webby Special Achievement Awards will be presented by the Academy at the 14th Annual Webby Awards Celebration
June 14, 2010 in New York City. All of the Special Achievement Award winners will attend to receive their honors.

Vint Cerf: Lifetime Achievement Award
Vint Cerf

The Webby Awards is thrilled to honor Vinton Cerf with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Now Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist for Google, Cerf is widely considered "Father of the Internet." By co-designing the TCP/IP protocols and basic architecture of the Internet, Cerf laid the groundwork to transmit data across the Internet. Cerf is a superlative leader of the digital revolution and as such, has transformed commerce, communication, and entertainment.

Roger Ebert: Webby Person of the Year
Roger Ebert

The Webby Awards is thrilled to honor Roger Ebert with a Special Achievement Award in honor of his contributions to the craft of online writing and journalism. In addition to his film criticism, which remains as eloquent as ever, his online journal has raised the bar for the level of poignancy, thoughtfulness and critique one can achieve on the Web, while at the same time shining a light on the most important issues facing journalism as it relates to the Internet itself. Ebert's insights - be they in film, online media, journalism or life - and his unparalleled level of engagement with followers and fans - has made the Internet a more thoughtful, engaging and self-aware environment.

Amy Poehler: Best Actress
Amy Poehler

The Webby Awards is thrilled to honor Amy Poehler as Best Actress in recognition of her online series "Smart Girls at the Party," which compliments her outstanding comedic performances on film and television with thoughtful and engaging work online. Using her series to reach smart and passionate young girls, Poehler's show demonstrates that branded content can be creative, entertaining and even inspirational.

Smart Girls At The Party

Zach Galifianakis: Best Actor
Zach Galifianakis

The Webby Awards is thrilled to honor Zach Galifianakis as Best Actor for his work in his online series "Between Two Ferns with Zach Gailfianakis." Acclaimed for his comedic performances in such films as "The Hangover," Galifianakis' roots in Internet culture, and use of the Web platform to reach an ever-expanding number of fans, demonstrates his keen ability to connect with audiences on screens both large and small.

Between Two Ferns

OK Go: Film & Video Artist of the Year

The Webby Awards is thrilled to honor OK Go with a Special Achievement Award. With their groundbreaking videos for "A Million Ways" "Here It Goes Again" and "This Too Shall Pass," the band continuously demonstrates unparalleled web-savviness, artistic vision and genius approach to the viral video. Using the Internet both as creative inspiration and tool of distribution, OK Go continues to set and re-raise the bar for modern music.

OK Go: Film & Video Artist of the Year

BBDO is the winner of the Agency of the Year Award in the 14th Annual Webby Awards. The Agency of the Year Award recognizes the most successful agency across all Webby categories including interactive advertising, websites, mobile sites, and online film and video. With nearly 10,000 works entered from all 50 US states and over 60 countries around the world and nearly one million votes in the Webby People's Voice Awards, the 14th Annual Webby Awards is the biggest in our history and continues to be the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet.

Chat Roulette: Breakout of the Year
Chat Roulette

The Webby Awards is thrilled to honor ChatRoulette as the Breakout of the Year. Taking the connective and democratic power of the Internet to new heights, ChatRoulette has changed the game for online media and captivated a global audience like no web phenomenon has before. ChatRoulette's 17-year old creator and technical wizard Andrey Ternovskiy will grace the Webby stage to accept the award, and deliver a 5-word acceptance speech.

PS22 Chorus: Artist of the Year
ps22 Chorus

The Webby Awards is thrilled to honor the PS22 Chorus with an Artist of the Year award in recognition of their online contributions to music, popular culture and the online medium itself. With more than 17,000,000 YouTube views, the Chorus has gained countless fans, including some of the most respected artists of our day, and in doing so has pioneered the online medium by engaging, connect- ing with and inspiring people around the world. The Webby Awards is thrilled to honor the PS22 Chorus for their contributions to music online, as they inspire an interactive, fun and creative Web.