The Star-Studded Celebration of the Best of the Internet is Set for Monday, May 15 in New York City.  Hallmark 5-Word Speeches and Show Highlights Will Be Available to Watch on

(New York) April 20, 2023 – The Webby Awards are back on Monday, May 15, and for the second year in a row The Daily Show’s hilarious and brilliant Roy Wood Jr. will be hosting the internet’s biggest night. The 27th Annual Webby Awards will honor this year’ best of the Internet, including podcasts, games, websites, video, social accounts, apps and more.  

The Emmy-nominated Roy Wood Jr. has entertained millions across stage, television and radio. Coming straight from hosting the prestigious and buzzy White House Correspondents’ Dinner, Wood Jr.’s signature honest and irreverent comedic style will have Webby Award Winners laughing so hard they’ll forget their 5-Word acceptance speeches. In addition to being on The Daily Show, Wood Jr. can also be seen in his third hour-long stand-up special, Imperfect Messenger, now streaming on Paramount+. Wood Jr.’s additional credits include Only Murders in the Building, Better Call Saul, Space Force, The Last O.G., and the PBS documentary The Neutral Ground, for which he served as executive producer and was nominated for an Emmy Award. 

“It is an honor to return once again to celebrate those who have made the World Wide Web a place for unification and love and curiosity. Also, do people still say “World Wide Web?” I don’t know. I’m a father, I got shit to do, I can’t keep up with all the trends,” added Wood Jr. 

“Roy’s wit, humor and musical In Memoriam made last year’s Webby Awards a night to remember,” said Ciel VanderVeen, Managing Director of The Webby Awards. “We are so excited to welcome Roy back to host this year’s show and celebrate the best of the Internet with him!”

This year’s Webby Award Nominees include some of the most talked-about personalities, including Selena Gomez, Harry Styles, Doja Cat, Lizzo, Lupita Nyong’o, BTS, Bomani Jones, Anderson Cooper, BLACKPINK, Cristiano Ronaldo, Post Malone, Megan Thee Stallion, Serena Williams, Drake and Future, the cast of Ted Lasso, RuPaul, MrBeast, Kara Swisher, Scott Galloway and more; and organizations such as Amazon, Apple, Canva, CNN, Coinbase, Disney, Duolingo, Etsy, Gucci, Headspace, MTV, NASA, National Geographic, NBA, Netflix, OpenAI, Rebel Girls, Reddit, WeTransfer, Sesame Street, Spotify, WaitWhat and Wondery.

All Nominees are eligible to win the Internet industry’s two most prestigious awards: The Webby Award, selected by the Academy, and The Webby People’s Voice Award, voted on by the online community. Voting for The Webby People’s Voice Awards is open now at through Thursday, April 20, 2023 at 11:59pm PDT.

Winners for The 27th Annual Webby Awards will be announced on Tuesday, April 25, 2023,

and will be celebrated at a star-studded in-person award show on Monday, May 15, 2023 at Cipriani Wall Street. Fans will be able to watch special moments and the hallmark d5-Word Speeches from all the Winners on May 15th by following @TheWebbyAwards across YouTube, Instagram and TikTok.


About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites and Mobile Sites; Video; Advertising, Media and PR; Apps, dApps & Software, Social; Podcasts; Games and Metaverse, Immersive & Virtual. Established in 1996, The Webby Awards received nearly 14,000 entries from all 50 states and over 70 countries worldwide this year. The Webby Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include Canva, WP Engine, Verizon, Omidyar Network, YouGov, NAACP, KPMG, Wall Street Journal, All Tech Is Human, Podcast Movement and AIGA.

Find The Webby Awards Online:

Instagram: @thewebbyawards
Twitter: @TheWebbyAwards
TikTok: @thewebbyawards
Linkedin: The Webby Awards

Media Contact:

Sunshine Sachs Morgan & Lylis