Nominees Announced, Vote until April 18th

The 16th Annual Webby Awards Interactive Advertising Nominees Announced

For information, contact:
Lanie Rosenthal:
Damiano DeMonte:
Nicki Fertile:
Sunshine, Sachs & Associates: 212-691-2800


DDB, Sweden’s Akestam Holst, BBH Advertising, & Wieden+Kennedy among top honored agencies in contention For Webby Agency of the Year
(New York, NY) April 10, 2012 — K-Swiss’s MFCEO Kenny Powers (72andSunny), The Sound of Football (Akestam Holst), Old Spice Mano a Mano en el Bano (Wieden + Kennedy) and Pringles Crunch Band (Crispin, Porter + Bogusky) were among the Nominees for the 16th Annual Webby Awards.

While Academy judges like R/GA’s Bob Greenberg, AKQA’s Rei Inamoto, and Benjamin Palmer of The Barbarian Group will select Webby winners, starting today the global advertising industry will also help decide who takes home coveted Webbys in interactive advertising by voting in The Webby People’s Voice Awards. The public has until April 26th to vote at

DDB’s 12 nominations put it in contention for the Webby Agency of the Year honor, which is presented to the agency that performs the best across all Webby Awards categories. Other agencies with multiple nominations also vying for Webby Agency of the Year include BBH (9), Wieden+Kennedy (9) and Akestam Holst (8), Hello Monday (6), AKQA (5), R/GA (5), BBDO (5), Saatchi & Saatchi (5), 72andSunny (4), Pereria & O’Dell (4), and Tribal DDB (4).

“The nominees for interactive advertising exemplify the growing trend in creating compelling and entertaining content as a way for advertisers to reach consumers in the increasingly important social spaces of the Internet,” said David-Michel Davies, Executive Director of the Webby Awards.

Winners will be announced May 1st, and honored at a star-studded ceremony on Monday, May 21, 2012, at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City where they will deliver five-word speeches in tradition of past victors like Anna Wintour (“Sometimes geeks can be chic.”) and Angry Birds (“Stay Angry, get those pigs!”) The show will be hosted by critically-acclaimed stand-up comedian, writer and actor Patton Oswalt and streamed live in HD at

For a full list of nominees for The 16th Annual Webby Awards please go to

PricewaterhouseCoopers provides vote tabulation consulting for The Webby Awards.

About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, interactive advertising & media, online film & video, and mobile & apps. Established in 1996, The 16th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Yahoo!, Vitamin T, MLB Advanced Media, Rackspace Hosting, JWT, The Atom Group, Financial Times, BuzzFeed, PricewaterhouseCoopers, and Guardian News and Media.

To join the conversation:
Follow: @TheWebbyAwards